FY 2020 NDAA Provisions Affecting Service Members and the Moving Industry

November 18, 2019

FY 2020 NDAA Provisions Affecting Service Members and the Moving Industry

FY 2020 NDAA Provisions Affecting Service Members and the Moving Industry

International Association of Movers

IAM Members in the United States:


In October, IAM sent out a request to members to contact Congress for support of language in the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA). There is still time to make contact and have an impact. We urge you to engage with Congress via your representatives and Senators.


The House and Senate are in conference to finalize wording of the NDAA. Members of that conference are listed below. If you are in the appropriate district or state based on the list below, contacting your Congressperson is extremely helpful. If not, you can contact your representatives and ask them to make contact with the conferees listed below to show their support for our efforts.


You can use the draft email attached below as an outline of your message to Congress; and modify it to suit your specific message.


IAM is working to remind conferees of the significance surrounding the potential outsourcing of DP3 to a single prime contractor. Our message to Congress is:


  1. It is important that Congressman Lamborn's provision is recognized within the final bill, and
  2. That GAO produce a comprehensive review and analysis of the impact that major changes to the DP3 program could have on service members and the moving industry, including outsourcing of its program management and administration to a private company. Timeframes and/or deadlines with GAO's review should be adjusted appropriately, if more time is warranted.


IAM asks that you consider emailing (or calling, if you prefer), the military legislative assistants and/or staff handling defense issues within the offices of the NDAA conferees, encouraging them to include the above provisions with any GAO study included in the final bill.


for you to use when engaging the appropriate Congressional Offices.


Below is the list of conferees, and the appropriate contacts for each office. IAM asks that each company coordinate as needed, and only send 1 email or contact to staff where your company has operations or facility in the district and/or state.


If you need assistance knowing who your representative is, .


If you have any questions, please contact Bryan Vickers at , 703-403-2882.


House and Senate conferees, along with their staff email contacts are listed below:


House Democrat Conferees

Rep. Adam Smith (WA) - Melanie.harris@mail.house.gov (Committee contact)

Rep. Susan Davis (CA) - Alan Lam, alan.lam@mail.house.gov

Rep. James Langevin (RI) - Leigh Maiden, Leigh.maiden@mail.house.gov

Rep. Rick Larsen (WA) - J.Z. Golden, Jonathan.Golden@mail.house.gov

Rep. Jim Cooper (TN) - Michael Harmon, Michael.harmon@mail.house.gov

Rep. Joe Courtney (CT) - Claire Wardius, claire.wardius@mail.house.gov

Rep. John Garamendi (CA) - Betsy Thompson, betsy.thompson@mail.house.gov

Rep. Jackie Speier (CA) - Mitchel Hochberg, mitchel.hochberg@mail.house.gov

Rep. Donald Norcross (NJ) - Ryan Ehly, ryan.ehly@mail.house.gov

Rep. Ruben Gallego (AZ) - Robert Ikoku, robert.ikoku@mail.house.gov

Rep. Seth Moulton (MA) - Christine Wagner, Christine.wagner@mail.house.gov

Rep. Salud Carbajal (CA) - Annie Yea, annie.yea@mail.house.gov

Rep. Anthony Brown (MD) - Jonathan Rayner, jonathan.rayner@mail.house.gov

Rep. Ro Khanna (CA) - Geo Saba, geo.saba@mail.house.gov

Rep. William Keating (MA) - Michael Wertheimer, michael.wertheimer@mail.house.gov

Rep. Filemon Vela (TX), Julie Merberg, julie.merberg@mail.house.gov

Rep. Andy Kim (NJ, Tom Smith, tom.smith@mail.house.gov

Rep. Kendra Horn (OK), Rayshon Payton, rayshon.payton@mail.house.gov

Rep. Gil Cisneros (CA) Yuvaraj Sivalingam, yuvaraj.sivalingam@mail.house.gov


House Republican Conferees

Rep. Mac Thornberry (TX), Adam Link, adam.link@maik.house.gov

Rep. Joe Wilson (SC), J.T. Shelson, john.shelson@mail.house.gov

Rep. Michael Turner (OH), Tyler Fitzgerald, tyler.fitzgerald@mail.house.gov

Rep. Mike Rogers (AL) - Whitney Verett, Whitney.verett@mail.house.gov

Rep. Michael Conaway (TX) - Jason Bowers, jason.bowers@mail.house.gov

Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO) - Andy Braun, Andrew.braun@mail.house.gov

Rep. Robert Wittman (VA) - Max Huntley, max.huntley@mail.house.gov

Rep. Vicky Hartzler (MO) - Chrissi Lee, chrissi.lee@mail.house.gov

Rep. Elise Stefanik (NY) - Courtney Kum, courtney.kum@mail.house.gov

Rep. Trent Kelly (MS) - Eddie Garcia, Eddie.garcia@mail.house.gov

Rep. Don Bacon (NE) - Patrick Flood, patrick.flood@mail.house.gov

Rep. Jim Banks (IN) - Lindsay Markle, Lindsay.markle@mail.house.gov

Rep. Liz Cheney (WY) - Scott Hughes, scott.hughes@mail.house.gov


Senate Republican Conferees

Sen. Inhofe (OK) - Kyle Stewart, kyle_stewart@inhofe.senate.gov

Sen. Wicker (MS) - Calvin Beads, calvin_beads@wicker.senate.gov

Sen. Fischer (NE) - Linden Olberg, linden_oldberg@fischer.senate.gov

Sen. Cotton (AR) - Matt Somers, matt_somers@cotton.senate.gov

Sen. Rounds (SD), Frank Tedeschi, frank_tedeschi@rounds.senate.gov

Sen. Ernst (IA) - Nic Adams, nic_adams@ernst.senate.gov

Sen. Tillis (NC) - Ben Leape, ben_leape@tillis.senate.gov

Sen. Sullivan (AK) - Connor Hajdukovich, Connor_Hajdukovich@sullivan.senate.gov

Sen. Perdue (GA) - Megan Zavertnik, megan_zavertnik@perdue.senate.gov

Sen. Cramer (ND) - Micah Chambers, micah_chambers@cramer.senate.gov

Sen. McSally (AZ) - Katie Chaudoin, katie_chaudoin@mcsally.senate.gov

Sen. Scott (FL) - Paul Bonicelli, paul_bonicelli@rickscott.senate.gov

Sen. Blackburn (TN) - Emily Manning, Emily_manning@blackburn.senate.gov

Sen. Hawley (MO) - Rick Trimble, rick_trimble@hawley.senate.gov


Senate Democrat Conferees

Sen. Reed (RI) (Committee Staff) - Creighton Greene, creighton_greene@armed-services.senate.gov

Sen. Shaheen (NH) Naz Durakoglu, Naz_Durakoglu@shaheen.senate.gov

Sen.Gillibrand (NY), Elena Broitman, elana_broitman@gillibrand.senate.gov

Sen. Blumenthal (CT), Josh Culver, joshua_culver@blumenthal.senate.gov

Sen. Hirono (HI), Nick Ikeda, Nick_Ikeda@hirono.senate.gov

Sen. Kaine (VA), Ryan Colvert, Ryan_Colvert@kaine.senate.gov

Sen. King (ME), Steve Smith, Steve_Smith@king.senate.gov

Sen. Heinrich (NM), Sean Duggan, sean_duggan@heinrich.senate.gov

Sen. Warren (MA), Sasha Baker, Sasha_Baker@warren.senate.gov

Sen. Peters (MI), Jordan Peters, jordan_wells@peters.senate.gov

Sen. Manchin (WV), Emily Farnell, emily_farnell@manchin.senate.gov

Sen. Duckworth (IL) - Matt Lampert, Matt_Lampert@duckworth.senate.gov

Sen. Jones (AL) - Cissy Jackson, cissy_jackson@jones.senate.gov




Daniel J. Bradley

Director, Government & Military Relations

Subscribe to IAM News


International Association of Movers | 703-317-9950


5904 Richmond Highway

Suite 404

Alexandria, VA 22303